To become an insurance agent and sell insurance in Florida, you need to get licensed. Our step-by-step guide offers detailed instructions for obtaining and maintaining your license. We’ve also included information on renewal and reciprocity so you’ll have everything you need to start an exciting new career as an insurance agent. Keep reading to learn details on the following steps.
- Take a Florida pre-licensing course
- Pass the state exam
- Submit application
- Submit fingerprints
- Stay compliant and renew your license
Let’s get started!
#1: Take an Approved Florida Insurance Agent 2-20 Pre-Licensing Course
The state requires you to complete an approved pre-licensing course before you can register and take the state insurance exam. Our Florida Insurance 2-20 Pre-Licensing Courses satisfy the mandatory pre-licensing requirement and will effectively prepare you to pass the state exam.
- Florida requires all insurance candidates to purchase the FAIA study guide, which is part of the 200-hour requirement. Instructions on how to do so are included in your All-Lines class.
Every All-Lines course has been rigorously prepared and is regularly updated. Our online classroom allows you to print reference materials, take practice tests, and even create your own quizzes to help with subjects you are struggling with. Once you’re consistently making 90% on your practice tests and passing all the quizzes with flying colors…it’s exam time!
#2: Register for and Pass the Florida Agent State Exam
When you’re ready to take the exam, register through PearsonVue. Make sure you register for the FLA General Lines 2-20 exam.
#3: Submit Application and Fingerprints for Your Florida Agent License
Florida requires all agent applicants to submit fingerprints through IdentoGo for a background check. Process and submit your fingerprints according to instructions at Florida DFS Fingerprinting Requirements.
There are two methods for submitting fingerprints: LiveScan to submit electronically or Fingerprint Cards to submit by mail. Fingerprint results are processed much faster using the LiveScan method. Instructions for each method are at the bottom of this page.
You can check to see if your license has been issued by logging in to MyProfile.
#4: Complete Florida’s Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Florida resident insurance agents must complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. You cannot repeat the same course within two years and receive continuing education credit.
- Every license holder must take the 4-Hour Florida Law & Ethics Update
Agent licenses are renewed on the last day of your birth month.
Additional Information for Florida Insurance Agents
Florida Insurance License Lookup: https://licenseesearch.fldfs.com/
Florida Insurance Agent Licensing Fees
- All-Lines Training Pre-licensing course: $249
- Initial Licensing and Application Fee: $57.45
- $57.45 (includes $50 application fee, $5 license ID fee, and $2.45 credit card company convenience fee)
- Appointment Fee: $60
- Appointments also require a credit card convenience fee of 3.3% of the transaction
- Fingerprinting Fee: $50.57
Florida Insurance Agent License Reciprocity
Insurance agent and producer license reciprocity refers to a mutual agreement between states that says an agent holding a license in his or her home state can successfully apply for a license in another state without having to take that state’s exam or pre-licensing course.
As an insurance agent, you can apply for a reciprocal license in any other state as long as the license you are applying for covers the same lines of authority. So if you hold a Personal Lines license, for example, you will not qualify for a Property and Casualty Lines reciprocal license.
Your home state license needs to be in good standing, and you will need to apply for the license, pay the fees, and register the licenses with NIPR. However, holding multiple licenses will allow you to sell insurance policies across state lines, increasing your customer base and your income.
Florida Department of Financial Services Contact Information
Florida Department of Financial Services
200 East Gains St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399
If you have questions, don’t hesitate to contact us. We’re here to help.