The moment we’ve all been waiting for has arrived! All-Lines Training now offers a 40-hour course to convert a Florida 4-40 Customer Representative license to a 2-20 General Lines Producers license.
Why convert your 4-40 License to a 2-20?
There are a few ways to obtain your Florida 2-20 general lines producer license. One option is to take an extensive 200-hour course. It’s pretty straightforward but takes a lot of time and a significant commitment on your part, especially since many providers’ courses expire in 30-60 days. That can be tough for those who need to continue working during the licensing process.
We suggest a different route: obtaining your 4-40 customer representative license and using it for a full year, then converting it to a 2-20 producer license with the All-Lines Conversion Course.
Becoming a customer representative gives you 12 months to learn and gain experience in the insurance industry. After one year, (during which you can be working and earning money!), you’re qualified to take the 40-hour conversion course instead of the time-consuming 200-hour course. Our courses don’t have an expiration date so you can study at your own pace, when and where it works for you.
If you need another reason to make the switch, licensed agents, on average, make $20,000 more a year than customer representatives. And that number grows as you build your client base and gain traction in the marketplace. Many producers also choose to be their own boss by opening their own agencies.
How to Convert to a Florida 2-20 License
We’re going to break down the process so you’ll know exactly what will be required to make this upgrade. This “how-to” is going to assume you already have your 4-40, 20-44, or 0-55 license. If you don’t, no problem! You can find a step-by-step guide on how to get the 4-40 license in our Florida 4-40 Customer Representative blog.
Let’s get to it:
- Complete at least one year (within the last four years) of responsible insurance duties as a licensed and appointed Customer Representative (4-40), Personal Lines Agent (20-44), or Service Representative (0-55)
- Complete the All-Lines Training’s 40-hour 2-20 conversion course
- Apply for your Florida license online through MyProfile
- Get a fingerprint background check from Identogo. (Yes, you’ll have to get fingerprinted again since they’re only good for 1 year.)
- Pass the state exam through PearsonVue
Continuing Education Requirements for Florida Producers
Customer Service Representatives (4-40) who upgrade their license will have an immediate increase in their CE requirement upon getting the 2-20 license. This CE requirement must be fulfilled by the required date listed by the Florida Department of Insurance.
As a 2-20 licensed producer, you’ll need to complete 24 hours of CE instead of the 10 hours required as a customer rep. Four of those hours must be the current Florida Law & Ethics Update. All-Lines Training offers a 24 Hour CE package that includes the Law & Ethics update. It’s everything you’ll need to meet your requirements at a heavily discounted price.
How Much Will It Cost?
- All-Lines 2-20 Conversion Course: $199
- Application Fee: $50
- Exam Fee: $44
- Fingerprinting Fee: $48.05
- Appointment Fee: $60.00
Florida Insurance Appointment
In Florida, all insurance licenses require an appointment. Agents need to be appointed by their employer.
Florida Department of Financial Services Contact Information
Florida Department of Financial Services
200 East Gains St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399